Surrender

Who I am
Aina Prat
@ainaprat
Author and references

Surrender vote in progress

Surrender it is a vow that allows summoners to end the game prematurely. A player can call the surrender vote by typing / surrender, / ff, / concede, or / forfeit in chat, or by pressing the "Surrender" button in the options menu. Initiating a surrender vote will display a pop-up window for 60 seconds from which players can cast their vote for or against the motion. At least 70% of the team must agree to surrender for the vote to pass, calling for a surrender vote automatically votes on behalf of the instigator. This means that in a team of three or fewer players, the entire team must agree. Any player who abstains from voting is counted against the motion to surrender.



If the voting is complete and less than 80% of the team has agreed to surrender, the voting fails and you cannot surrender when it was first started for three minutes. If more than 67% agree to surrender, the game will end in victory for the opposing team.

Players can vote by clicking the "Yes" or "No" button, in addition to typing / surrender, / ff or / nosurrender or / noff respectively.

Summary

  • 1 Time Limit
    • 1.1 Removed game modes
  • 2 Redo
    • 2.1 Conditions
  • 3 Trivia

Time Limit

Summoners cannot call a vote of Surrender before a certain time is up.


  • In Summoner's Rift, Vows of Surrender cannot be earlier in 15 minutes. However, the surrender vote is considered "early surrender" and must be "unanimous" if the vote is called before 20 minutes.
  • In Twisted Treeline, votes of surrender cannot be called before the 15-minute mark in the game.
  • In Howling Abyss, Vows of Surrender cannot be earlier than 8 minutes. However, the surrender vote is considered "early surrender" and must be "unanimous" if the vote is called before 12 minutes.



Game modes removed

  • In Crystal Scar, votes of surrender cannot be called before the 15-minute mark in the game.

Redo

In patch V6.12 Riot introduced a command called / remake that ends a 5v5 matchv game in a draw if a player disconnects or does not connect at all. The match will end and the disconnected player will be penalized with a loss and the "Graduated" flag. All other players will not be counted with a loss or a win, and the match result will be written as "Remake" in their match record.

In ranked queue, a redo counts as a loss for any Diamond IV + players in a pre-made with the player disconnected.

Terms

Redo can only be issued under certain conditions, to which a chat prompt will alert if all are met:

  • An ally has been marked as AFK or disconnected for a full 90 seconds prior to the three minute mark.
  • Two out of four players (40% of the players in the game) vote to redo (formally surrender the game, but not for the record).
  • A First Blood against the disconnected team has not taken place before they disconnect.
    • If First Blood takes time between a vote / remake, that vote will not be canceled.

Trivia

  • The original wait time to initiate a Surrender Vow in Summoner's Rift was 20 minutes before adding the 15 minute early surrender option.
  • You can surrender even if your team has destroyed the enemy Nexus, before the "Victory" message appears give the vote of surrender and if it is accepted, even after you have destroyed their Nexus, it will appear as a defeat.
  • Completing the Surrender process while your Nexus is being destroyed will cause it to explode 2 times.
  • If the enemy surrenders, and you give a surrender vote quickly before the game is over, you will end up having a loss, even though they surrendered first.


add a comment of Surrender
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.